ACFS National

We are one of eight branches located in Australia. The branches are Northern Territory, Victoria, Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Queensland, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia. All are incorporated in their respective states and all but New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory are affiliated with the National body – ACFS Ltd.

ACFSWA in Context

Australia-China Friendship Society National Website

ACFS Australian Capital Territory

ACFS New South Wales

ACFS Northern Territory

ACFS Queensland

ACFS South Australia

ACFS Victoria

Two Rivers, two cities. Perth & Shanghai


The Early Days

In 1951 and 1952, the Australia China Society (ACS), as the Australia China Friendship Society was then known, was established in Melbourne and Sydney. This was only two years after the founding of the People’s Republic of China on 1st October 1949. Active members rendered numerous effective and beneficial works in increasing Australia-China friendship. This later contributed to the promotion of the establishment of diplomatic relations between the two countries. Diplomatic relations were established between Australia and China in 1972.